Would anyone be interested in a possible budget / pay what you want hosting service? I'm colocating a pretty decent server soon and would like to make use of it's resources

I’m about to get a pretty well specked out HP ProLiant DL360p G8 server soon and I’m currently hunting for a local data center to colo it at. I’m a Data Center Technician myself so I’m quite excited for this, however I will have way too many resources available just for my use, hell even compared to the current server I rent from OVH.

The specs are as follows:

• 2x Intel Xeon 2.60Ghz E5-2670 8c/16t CPUs
  • 24x 4GB PC3-10600R RAM / 96GB Total
  • 2x 460W Platinum Power Supplies
  • P420 RAID Controller
  • 4x 1Gbps Ethernet Ports

It doesn’t come with any storage but I’m likely going to pick up 4 600GB 10K SAS Dell enterprise server drives in RAID5, maybe 8. Would be $240 for 8 of them used. Depending on the data center I find the link will at minimum be 100mbps symmetrical, I’d like at least 250mbps symmetrical like I have though. Trying to keep it local to Omaha, NE but it depends. My budget for this is about $200 - $250. While I can afford this I think it would be nice to have a small invite-only hosting service to cover some of the costs with this and even a free plan fedi people that are cool and might not be able to afford hosting.

So, would anyone be interested in this if I did it? I’m going to colo this anyway and having local access means I can fix it anytime there’s an issue. I’d like to hear people’s thoughts on this.

3 Likes

Update:

I found an option for $100/mo but it’s in Lincoln, 50 minutes away. Not too bad though.

5 ips included, 10tb data transfer cap (doubt I’d go over even with hosting others), no other fees or installation fees, gotta see how much other IPs cost though as I would like more.

Don’t wait on me but I might be interested